WireVision Mixshow – Tim Sharp (Botanic Records/Into The Blue) + RTJ – June 2020

Welcome to the #WireVisionMixshow. A collaboration between Revision Music & Popwire.com.sg.

This month we got a special guest mix by Tim Sharp representing Botanic Records. Based out of Kuala Lumpur and Singapore, he presents the Into The Blue show on Malaysia’s BFM 89.9.

A definite quality selection from the man for approximately the first hour, followed by Revision’s very own RTJ for the second half of this mix show. Nez Senja presents, at the start of each mix.

Tim Sharp:
Recorded at the end of a ten-week lockdown here in Singapore; anxiously optimistic that the worst of the pandemic may be behind us and that the world might just re-emerge a better place.

The mix starts in the region with the always-excellent Swimful/SVBKLT combo out of Shanghai before quickly (maybe a little too quickly, listening back) moving closer to home care of Indonesian producer BLLISS  – one of many anonymous monikers and projects from the uber-productive artist. Elsewhere, Emma Jean-Thackray’s Movementt seemingly heralded good things for the year when the label debuted in March, although Logic 1000’s classic ‘Love Goes’ edit – an Australian bushfire fundraiser – reminds us that, for many, 2020 started with devastating natural disasters.

A pair of isolation releases make the most of the past few months, including the incredible Virtual Shadow Ensemble on New Zealand’s Noa Records plus the gripping ‘Solitude’ from Anna Wall on Stamp the Wax. Etienne Jaumet takes on the timeless, terrifying and perpetually-relevant Sun Ra classic ‘Nuclear War’ and we close things out in Malaysia via the Philippines and Singapore with Sylfiden and Vandetta’s ‘Fugue in G. Minor’; born out of a legendary 2015 (or was it 2014?) session at The Dusun jungle studios on the outskirts of KL.

Swimful – Broken Trapdoor [SVBKVLT]
BLLISS – Warrm [Botanic Records]
The Ghan – Close Your Eyes [Body Promise]
Sound Voyage – Schattenspiel Dub
Daniel Maunick – Fallen Notes [Far Out Recordings]
Emma-Jean Thackray – Movementt [Movementt]
Virtual Shadow Ensemble – Truth is in the Shadow of a Doubt (feat. Aije & Janina Nana Yaa) [Noa Records]
Logic 1000 – Love Goes (Edit)
Kaye – Wu Tang Brought Me Here [Darker Than Wax]
Penya – Cham Bomb (Photay Remix) [On The Corner Records]
Nicola Cruz – Siku [ZZK Records]
Kalbata ft. Tigris – Satan Speaks! [Fortuna Records]
Francis Bebey – Forest Nativity (Red Axes Edit)
Anna Wall – Solitude [Stamp the Wax]
AMNATIVE – Dengue Dengue Dengue [On The Corner Records]
Young John – Idunu [Python Syndicate]
Roza Terenzi – Jungle in the City [Planet Euphorique]
Etienne Jaumet – Nuclear War [Versatile Records]
Bruce Roach – Patient [Potatoheadz Records]
Natureboy Flako – Contemplation
Night Dives – Empty Office [Botanic Records]
Sylfiden – Lullaby in G. Minor ft. Vandetta [Botanic Records]
RTJ – From 1H9Min5s
Yussef Kamaal – Strings Of Light
Young Disciples – Freedom Suite Wanting To Be Free
Ronny Jordan Meets DJ Krush – The Jackal ( The Illest Mix )
Tall Black Guy – Come And Go With Me feat. Kyotey Grey
Buckshot Lefonque – Breakfast @ Denny’s
Rotary Connection feat. Minnie Ripperton – I Am The Black Gold Of The Sun Thee Sacred Souls – Give Us Justice
The Kribo Brothers, Akid Amir and Danikiddo – May Peace Be In Power Michael Kiwanuka – Black Man In A White World (Live)
Dj Rushmo – Mr. Big Mouth (Rushmo Edit)
Gregory Porter – 1960 What (Opolopo Kick And Bass Rerub )
Devon Russell – Move On Ip (Edit)
Jeremy Taylor – So what (Dub)