Singaporean Indie Alt-Rock OGs Electrico Are Back and Offering A New Sound With Their B-Side

Singaporean indie alternative rock band, Electrico are back after years of hiatus with a collection of renewed songs from their last three albums: ‘We Satellites’ (2008), ‘Hip City’ (2006), and ‘So Much More Inside’ (2004). These interpretations are straight-up, unpretentious, and deeply satisfying pop rock.

The decision to breathe new life into their earlier songs for their new EP, ‘B-sides Live at the Power Station’, was made spontaneously. It led to the trio’s original members – David Tan (vocals and lead guitar), Desmond Goh (bass guitar), and William Lim Jr (drums) putting together an impassioned recording: a culmination of several months of intense practice and a 10-hour recording session. The live production includes contributions from keyboardist-arranger Jonathan Shin, guitarist Daryl Tay, and a chamber group, which comprises violinist David Loke, cellist Stella Wu, trombonist Erwin Tan, and French hornist Luke Chong.

Re-recording the 4 songs allowed us to introduce a deeper side of the band, which is more mellow and mature than before,” says Desmond. David adds, “Doing this recording got our creative juices flowing. It also geared us up for performing.”

A live performance video from ‘B-sides Live at the Power Station’ is now accessible on Electrico’s YouTube channel, starting with a personal Popwire favourite, ‘Shadows’ taken off the band’s quintessential album ‘We Satellites’. The band will be releasing a video every Friday starting from 9 April 2021, alongside the band’s back catalogue made available on all major digital streaming platforms.

Watch ‘Shadow’ from ‘B-sides Live at the Power Station’:

For updates on Electrico, follow them at:

Facebook | Instagram | Website